A blog appears

 

Image

It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s the SuperGrammarian! 

Welcome to my blog.

Following Superman’s example, I hope to keep the world of words safe for lovers of language by fighting common usage errors, shining a spotlight on bad grammar and generally musing about language.

We natives of planet Earth often find the language used by our fellow Earthlings as incomprehensible as if they hailed from Krypton. Simply because two people speak English, there is no guarantee they’ll understand each other. Slang, usage or regional accents may get in the way. 

It’s my mission – yes, I choose to accept it – to look at the highs and lows of language: eloquent speech, bad grammar, poor usage and newly minted expressions, hoping these ramblings will remind you to think before you speak  or hit your email Send button. 

What calls me to this venture? As someone who has made her living by writing in one style or another for a couple of decades, I spend a lot of time with the mysteries, annoyances and delights of the English language – more than, for example, an accountant would. As Milton beautifully states in Paradise Regained:

 “If I would delight my private hours
With music or with poem, where so soon
As in our native language can I find
That solace?”

As an avid reader, as well as a writer, I am well aware of the versatility of the English language, its richness and its variety.  I love to come across new and unfamiliar words – or old-fashioned ones that have fallen out of favour. They all have stories to tell.

Each language has its own quirks, its peculiar strengths and weaknesses. English has been often touted as a very difficult language to learn because it often defies logical explanation, both grammatically and in terms of pronunciation. (Think red and read, for example!) As I share my observations with you through this blog, I hope you’ll begin to look with new eyes at English words, their use and the tales they have to tell.

Stay tuned — or watch the skies!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A blog appears

  1. Andrea G

    Another way to explain to the unknowing how to differentiate between the contraction (it’s) and the possessive (its), is to remind them to think of the possessives “his”, “her”, and “my”, none of which need apostrophes. (Best to avoid “your” and “their” because of the unfortunate common mistakes made with them.)

    I’m looking forward to reading more of this blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

